Richard III

Author: Clements R. Markham

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1108071457

Category: History

Page: 358

View: 7885

This 1906 biography of England's last Plantagenet king was among the first and most important Ricardian apologias for a general readership.
Posted in History

“The” Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music and the Drama

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8547

Posted in

The Athenaeum

Author: James Silk Buckingham,John Sterling,Frederick Denison Maurice,Henry Stebbing,Charles Wentworth Dilke,Thomas Kibble Hervey,William Hepworth Dixon,Norman Maccoll,Vernon Horace Rendall,John Middleton Murry

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8972

Posted in

Ulysses

Author: James Joyce,General Press

Publisher: GENERAL PRESS

ISBN: 8180320995

Category: Fiction

Page: 860

View: 8497

'Ulysses' is a novel by Irish writer James Joyce. It was first serialised in parts in the American journal 'The Little Review' from March 1918 to December 1920, and then published in its entirety by Sylvia Beach in February 1922, in Paris. 'Ulysses' has survived bowdlerization, legal action and bitter controversy. Capturing a single day in the life of Dubliner Leopold Bloom, his friends Buck Mulligan and Stephen Dedalus, his wife Molly, and a scintillating cast of supporting characters, Joyce pushes Celtic lyricism and vulgarity to splendid extremes. An undisputed modernist classic, its ceaseless verbal inventiveness and astonishingly wide-ranging allusions confirm its standing as an imperishable monument to the human condition. It takes readers into the inner realms of human consciousness using the interior monologue style that came to be called stream of consciousness. In addition to this psychological characteristic, it gives a realistic portrait of the life of ordinary people living in Dublin, Ireland, on June 16, 1904. The novel was the subject of a famous obscenity trial in 1933, but was found by a U.S. district court in New York to be a work of art. The furor over the novel made Joyce a celebrity. In the long run, the work placed him at the forefront of the modern period of the early 1900s when literary works, primarily in the first two decades, explored interior lives and subjective reality in a new idiom, attempting to probe the human psyche in order to understand the human condition. This richly-allusive novel, revolutionary in its modernistic experimentalism, was hailed as a work of genius by W.B. Yeats, T.S. Eliot and Ernest Hemingway. Scandalously frank, wittily erudite, mercurially eloquent, resourcefully comic and generously humane, 'Ulysses' offers the reader a life-changing experience. Publisher : General Press
Posted in Fiction

The Examiner

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English literature

Page: N.A

View: 8593

Posted in English literature

The Literary Gazette

A Weekly Journal of Literature, Science, and the Fine Arts

Author: William Jerdan,William Ring Workman,John Morley,Frederick Arnold,Charles Wycliffe Goodwin

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7734

Posted in

The Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science and the Fine Arts

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9285

Posted in

The Illustrated London News

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: London (England)

Page: N.A

View: 5346

Posted in London (England)

The English Cyclopaedia ...

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Natural history

Page: N.A

View: 9441

Posted in Natural history

The Spectator

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8451

Posted in

The Athenæum

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7199

Posted in

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 9780771038518

Category:

Page: 464

View: 850

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.
Posted in

The Old Regime and the Revolution

The controversial bestselling guide to the origins of the French Revolution

Author: Alexis de Tocqueville

Publisher: Harriman House Limited

ISBN: 0857193015

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 190

View: 3152

A profound and elegantly written investigation into the true causes of the French Revolution, this masterpiece by Alexis de Tocqueville remains as lively, counter-intuitive and memorable as on its first publication. Originally a bestseller simultaneously in France and Britain, today it sits at the top of book charts in China, and is beloved by historians and journalists as one of the most penetrating and creative analyses of an event that changed the face of the world.
Posted in Business & Economics

The Law of Nations

Or, Principles of the Law of Nature Applied to the Conduct and Affairs of Nations and Sovereigns

Author: Emer de Vattel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: War (International law)

Page: 500

View: 2285

Posted in War (International law)