No-till Gardening

The Organic Method for Richer Soil, Healthier Crops, and Fewer Weeds

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781942934080

Category: Gardening

Page: 40

View: 3525

Tired of tilling your garden? Why till when Mother Nature can do it for you, saving you time and money? Caleb Warnock, self-sufficiency expert and author of the Backyard Renaissance Collection, provides a foolproof method to toss your tiller and have the best garden in the neighborhood. Armed with fifteen reasons you'll never have to till your garden again and still have the bumper crop that will be the envy of Farmer John, No-Till Gardening teaches a better, simpler way to garden. Includes: a history of garden tilling; using no-till method to reduce weeds by 90 percent; how to create a self-seeding, no-till garden; how to never purchase fertilizer again; and much more!
Posted in Gardening

Tiny Garden, Huge Harvest

How to Harvest Huge Crops from Mini Plots and Container Gardens

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: Familius

ISBN: 9781942934844

Category: Gardening

Page: 48

View: 5799

When you plant the right varieties of heirloom vegetables, you can harvest huge volumes of fresh food from small garden plots and container gardens. Self-sufficiency expert Caleb Warnock provides step-by-step directions for designing, planting, and harvesting a tiny garden for big harvests that can really feed your family.
Posted in Gardening

Shallow-Pit Garden Composting

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: Familius

ISBN: 9781942934837

Category: Gardening

Page: 48

View: 8897

Learn how to make your own shallow pit garden compost . . . without the smell!
Posted in Gardening

Stress-Free Vegetable Gardening

Thriving Gardens with Minimal Effort

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: Cedar Fort

ISBN: 1462126227

Category: Gardening

Page: 176

View: 8896

Save time and money in your garden! No more excuses! Well-known author Caleb Warnock provides insightful instruction on how to make gardening fun, easy, and stress-free. Learn how to silence popular gardening mythsavoid those obnoxious weedsremove pests safely and without nasty chemicalsgrow vegetables year-roundand so much more! Just for you, Caleb also includes a cheat sheet on how to grow, care for, and harvest anything from the commonly known cucumbers, carrots, and potatoes to the lesser-known sunchoke, mustard greens, and Chinese cabbage. Learn how easy it is to create an abundant crop with almost no effort. With this book in hand, you can enjoy delicious harvests that come back year after year
Posted in Gardening

The Organic No-Till Farming Revolution

High-Production Methods for Small-Scale Farmers

Author: Andrew Mefferd

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN: 9780865718845

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 288

View: 2478

The Organic No-Till Farming Revolution is the no-till chemical-free growing roadmap, showing how no-till lowers barriers to starting a small farm, reduces greenhouse gas emissions, increases efficiency and profitability, and promotes soil health. This hands-on manual is specifically written for natural and small-scale farmers.
Posted in Technology & Engineering

Make Your Own Cheese, 2nd Edition

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: Familius

ISBN: 9781942934783

Category: Cooking

Page: 64

View: 2662

With simple cheesemaking techniques and expert advice, the Backyard Renaissance Collection brings you the healthier, more cost-effective alternative to store-bought, processed cheese. Author Caleb Warnock teaches readers how to make twelve varieties of cheese using techniques for both the beginning cheese chef and those interested in self-reliant recipes. In this expanded second edition, readers will have access to even more recipe varieties, including: Cheddar Parmesan Mozzarella Cottage cheese Cream cheese Self-reliant cheese, and more!
Posted in Cooking

The Art of the Kitchen Garden

Author: Jan Gertley,Michael Gertley

Publisher: Taunton Press

ISBN: 9781561581801

Category: Gardening

Page: 151

View: 1897

Shows how to design and plant kitchen gardens, decorative arrangements of flowers and vegetables, and shows examples from the past
Posted in Gardening

The Complete Kitchen Garden

An Inspired Collection of Garden Designs & 100 Seasonal Recipes

Author: Ellen Ecker Ogden

Publisher: ABRAMS

ISBN: 1613120761

Category: Gardening

Page: 256

View: 3437

A design and recipe resource with “all the tools to plan a productive garden before seeds ever meet the ground” (The Wall Street Journal). Based on seasonal cycles, each chapter of this indispensible book provides a new way to look at the planning stages of starting a garden—with themes and designs such as the Salad Lover’s Garden, the Heirloom Maze Garden, the Children’s Garden, and the Organic Rotation Garden. More than 100 recipes—including a full range of soups, salads, main courses, and desserts, as well as condiments and garnishes—are featured here, all using the food grown in each specific garden. “There’s no reason a vegetable garden must be an eyesore, banished to the corner by the garage. . . . The Complete Kitchen Garden . . . combines design advice, garden wisdom and recipes.” —Chicago Tribune
Posted in Gardening

Herbal Beauty

Author: Caleb Warnock,Kirsten Skirvin

Publisher: Familius

ISBN: 9781942934523

Category: Cooking

Page: 40

View: 4103

Learn the natural way to care for your skin and hair!Herbal Beautyhas recipes to help enhance your natural beauty. "
Posted in Cooking

Viili Perpetual No-Cook Homemade Yogurt

Author: Caleb Warnock

Publisher: Familius

ISBN: 9781942934516

Category: Cooking

Page: 40

View: 5241

Learn how to make your own Viili yogurt at home! With the history behind, health benefits of, and recipes using Viili yogurt, you will have all you need to make Viili part of your diet.
Posted in Cooking

Heretics and Heroes

How Renaissance Artists and Reformation Priests Created Our World

Author: Thomas Cahill

Publisher: Anchor Books

ISBN: 0385495587

Category: Art

Page: 341

View: 5174

Discusses the Renaissance and Reformation from the late fourteenth through the early seventeenth centuries, explaining how the period's artistic and scientific innovations changed the Western world.
Posted in Art

Dear Mr. Jefferson

Letters from a Nantucket Gardener

Author: Laura Simon

Publisher: Delta

ISBN: 9780385333399

Category: Gardening

Page: 224

View: 4815

In a series of imaginary letters to Thomas Jefferson, United States president and gardener, the author, a gardener in Nantucket, "talks shop" about planting, soil, seeds, and manure
Posted in Gardening

The Permaculture Handbook

Garden Farming for Town and Country

Author: Peter Bane

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN: 0865716668

Category: Gardening

Page: 480

View: 5971

A step-by-step guide to creating resilient and prosperous households introduces permaculture as a practical way to live well with less money, convert waste into wealth, and reduce dependence on fossil fuels.
Posted in Gardening

Gaia's Garden

A Guide to Home-scale Permaculture

Author: Toby Hemenway

Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

ISBN: 1603580298

Category: Gardening

Page: 313

View: 5197

This extensively revised and expanded edition broadens the reach and depth of the permaculture approach for urban and suburban gardeners. The text's message is that working with nature, not against it, results in more beautiful, abundant, and forgiving gardens.
Posted in Gardening

The Gardens of the British Working Class

Author: Margaret Willes

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300206259

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 9373

This magnificently illustrated people’s history celebrates the extraordinary feats of cultivation by the working class in Britain, even if the land they toiled, planted, and loved was not their own. Spanning more than four centuries, from the earliest records of the laboring classes in the country to today, Margaret Willes's research unearths lush gardens nurtured outside rough workers’ cottages and horticultural miracles performed in blackened yards, and reveals the ingenious, sometimes devious, methods employed by determined, obsessive, and eccentric workers to make their drab surroundings bloom. She also explores the stories of the great philanthropic industrialists who provided gardens for their workforces, the fashionable rich stealing the gardening ideas of the poor, alehouse syndicates and fierce rivalries between vegetable growers, flower-fanciers cultivating exotic blooms on their city windowsills, and the rich lore handed down from gardener to gardener through generations. This is a sumptuous record of the myriad ways in which the popular cultivation of plants, vegetables, and flowers has played—and continues to play—an integral role in everyday British life.
Posted in History

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Author: Zora Neale Hurston

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252017780

Category: Fiction

Page: 231

View: 1358

When Janie Starks returns home, the small Black community buzzes with gossip about the outcome of her affair with a younger man
Posted in Fiction

The Art Book for Children - Book Two

Author: Amanda Renshaw

Publisher: Phaidon Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 80

View: 3565

Encourages young readers to explore objects of art along with concepts such as clocks, time, music, mirrors, collecting, trust, movement, line, and shape, and explains how great artists used these themes to create their works.
Posted in Juvenile Nonfiction

A Garden of Marvels

How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Author: Ruth Kassinger

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062049038

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 9888

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today’s extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab. In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis. In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She also visits modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, a truly black petunia, a biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Transferring her insights to her own garden, she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures a Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty. Intertwining personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history, the ever-engaging author takes us on an eye-opening journey into her garden—and yours.
Posted in Biography & Autobiography

Reclaiming Our Food

How the Grassroots Food Movement is Changing the Way We Eat

Author: Tanya Denckla Cobb

Publisher: Storey Publishing

ISBN: 1603427996

Category: Gardening

Page: 320

View: 520

From Community GroundWorks in Madison, Wisconsin, to Greensgrow Farm in eastern Philadelphia, readers will learn about the motivating vision and people behind each organization. They will also find advice and guidance on everyday issues such as distribution, working with at-risk populations, fostering community, providing therapeutic assistance, and building the infrastructure to maintain new initiatives.
Posted in Gardening