Emily of New Moon

Author: Lucy Maud Montgomery

Publisher: Laurel Leaf

ISBN: 9780553233704

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 339

View: 8600

After the death of her father, Emily moves in with relatives at New Moon Farm and struggles to adjust to a new way of life.
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

Jane of Lantern Hill

Author: L. M. Montgomery

Publisher: Tundra Books

ISBN: 0735263310

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 6668

The definitive paperback editions of L.M. Montgomery's beloved novels get a brand-new look for the next hundred years! For as long as she could remember, Jane Stuart and her mother lived with her grandmother in a dreary mansion in Toronto. Jane always believed her father was dead--until she accidently learned he was alive and well and living on Prince Edward Island. When Jane spends the summer at his cottage on Lantern Hill, doing all the wonderful things Grandmother deems unladylike, she dares to dream that there could be such a house back in Toronto . . . a house where she, Mother, and Father could live together without Grandmother directing their lives--a house that could be called home.
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

The Annotated Anne of Green Gables

Author: L. M. Montgomery,Margaret Anne Doody,Mary Doody Jones,Wendy Elizabeth Barry

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780195104288

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 1029

This edition of the classic novel about the Prince Edward Island orphan contains critical material on the work itself and its author, as well as essays, poems, and songs.
Posted in Fiction

Emily’s Quest

Author: L.M. Montgomery

Publisher: Charles River Editors via PublishDrive

ISBN: 1508023190

Category: Fiction

Page: 290

View: 8165

Chios Classics brings literature's greatest works back to life for new generations. All our books contain a linked table of contents. Emily's Quest, written by L.M. Montgomery, is the last book of the Emily Starr trilogy.The story follows Emily as she becomes a young adult.
Posted in Fiction

Catalog of Copyright Entries. New Series

1923

Author: N.A

Publisher: Copyright Office, Library of Congress

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: 1794

View: 9709

Part 1, Books, Group 1, v. 20 : Nos. 1 - 125 (Issued April, 1923 - May, 1924)
Posted in American literature

Emily Climbs

Author: Lucy Maud Montgomery

Publisher: Booklassic

ISBN: 9635266332

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 203

View: 6939

Emily Byrd Starr longs to attend Queen's Academy to earn her teaching license, but her tradition-bound relatives at New Moon refuse. She is instead offered the chance to go to Shrewsbury High School with her friends, on two conditions. The first is that she board with her disliked Aunt Ruth, but it is the second that causes Emily difficulties. Emily must not write a word during her high-school education. At first, Emily refuses the offer, unable to contemplate a life without any writing. Cousin Jimmy changes the condition slightly, saying that she cannot write a word of "fiction". Emily does not think this much of an improvement but it turns out to be an excellent exercise for her budding writing career. Although Emily clashes with Aunt Ruth and Evelyn Blake, the school's would-be writer, she starts to develop her powers of storytelling. Through a series of adventures, Emily is furnished with materials to write stories and poems, and even sees success with the short story "The Woman Who Spanked the King." In the meantime, Emily also begins to see romantic possibilities for her life. She and Teddy Kent draw closer, but due to misunderstandings and interference from Teddy's mother, the romance stalls. Emily also refuses a proposal from Perry Miller, and continues her long-lasting friendship with Dean Priest. At the end of the novel, Emily, now a budding young writer, chooses to remain at her beloved New Moon rather than leaving for New York with famous writer Janet Royal.
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves

Author: Mark Z. Danielewski,Zampan?o

Publisher: Pantheon

ISBN: 0375420525

Category: Fiction

Page: 709

View: 7039

A family relocates to a small house on Ash Tree Lane and discovers that the inside of their new home seems to be without boundaries
Posted in Fiction

A Few Minutes of Design

52 Activities to Spark Your Creativity

Author: Emily Campbell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781616897420

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 753

Posted in

Revelation

Author: Will Self

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 0857861018

Category: Bibles

Page: 64

View: 2070

The final book of the Bible, Revelation prophesies the ultimate judgement of mankind in a series of allegorical visions, grisly images and numerological predictions. According to these, empires will fall, the "Beast" will be destroyed and Christ will rule a new Jerusalem. With an introduction by Will Self.
Posted in Bibles

Cast in Shadow

Author: Michelle Sagara

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1460399420

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 8531

Book 1 in the Chronicles of Elantra fantasy series by New York Times bestselling author Michelle Sagara Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered—and all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin.… Since then, she's learned to read, she's learned to fight and she's become one of the vaunted Hawks who patrol and police the City of Elantra. Alongside the winged Aerians and the immortal Barrani, she's made a place for herself, far from the mean streets of her birth. But children are once again dying, and a dark and familiar pattern is emerging. Kaylin is ordered back into Nightshade with a partner she knows she can't trust, a Dragon lord for a companion and a device to contain her powers—powers that no other human has. Her task is simple—find the killer, stop the murders…and survive the attentions of those who claim to be her allies! Originally published in 2005
Posted in Fiction

Emily's Quest

Author: Lucy Maud Montgomery

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9635266340

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 134

View: 5644

Emily Starr and Teddy Kent have been friends since childhood, and as Teddy is about to leave to further his education as an artist, Emily believes that their friendship is blossoming into something more. On his last night at home, they vow to think of each other when they see the star Vega of the Lyre. As Emily grows as a writer and learns to deal with the loneliness of having her closest friends gone, life at New Moon changes. Mr. Carpenter, Emily's most truthful critic and favorite teacher dies (warning Emily, even as he dies to "Beware --- of --- italics."). She becomes closer to Dean Priest, even as she fears he wants love when she only has friendship to give. Worst of all, Emily and Teddy become distant as he focuses on building his career and she hides her feelings behind pride.
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

The Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet

Author: Eleanor Cameron

Publisher: Paw Prints

ISBN: 9781442013438

Category:

Page: 214

View: 2046

In answer to an advertisement David and Chuck build a small spaceship and are off on a mysterious adventure
Posted in

Giraffes Can't Dance

Number Rumba Counting Book

Author: Giles Andreae

Publisher: Cartwheel Books

ISBN: 9780545639965

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 12

View: 8006

Using rhyming text and illustrations, Gerald the giraffe and his fellow jungle animals introduce young readers to the numbers one through ten all the while doing the rumba dance!
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

The True Story of Pocahontas

The Other Side of History

Author: Linwood Custalow,Angela L. Daniel

Publisher: Fulcrum Publishing

ISBN: 9781555916329

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 138

View: 9046

For the first time, the true story of Pocahontas is revealed by her own people.
Posted in Biography & Autobiography

Emily Climbs

Author: L. M. Montgomery

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English fiction

Page: 325

View: 579

Posted in English fiction

Poems by Emily Dickinson

Author: Emily Dickinson

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN: 1465585583

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9271

Posted in

Snow & Rose

Author: Emily Winfield Martin

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780553538199

Category:

Page: 224

View: 5388

A New York Times bestselling author-illustrator brings readers into the woods to meet two young sisters and a strange bit of magic in this reimagining of the classic but little-known fairy tale "Snow White and Rose Red." Snow and Rose didn't know they were in a fairy tale. People never do. . . . Once, they lived in a big house with spectacular gardens and an army of servants. Once, they had a father and mother who loved them more than the sun and moon. But that was before their father disappeared into the woods and their mother disappeared into sorrow. This is the story of two sisters and the enchanted woods that have been waiting for them to break a set of terrible spells. Bestselling author-illustrator Emily Winfield Martin has created a world that sits on the border of enchantment, with characters who are grounded in real emotions that readers will recognize in themselves.
Posted in

Miss Moon: Wise Words from a Dog Governess

Author: Janet Hill

Publisher: Tundra Books

ISBN: 1101917954

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 48

View: 4392

Miss Wilhelmina Moon is a dog governess. At her first placement, on a small island off the coast of France, her new charges - sixty-seven dogs of all shapes, sizes and colors - run wild. But armed with patience and a passion for teaching, as well as her companions, Mitford the monkey and Petunia the French bulldog, Miss Moon soon imparts twenty important lessons to her furry brood. Some are practical, some are playful, one or two are a little unusual, but all are necessary for the raising of happy, healthy and well-mannered dogs (and humans).
Posted in Juvenile Fiction

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 9780771038518

Category:

Page: 464

View: 3110

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.
Posted in