Angelic Wisdom Concerning Divine Love and Wisdom

Author: Emanuel Swedenborg

Publisher: Cosimo, Inc.

ISBN: 1596057343

Category: Religion

Page: 196

View: 5287

The atmospheres, which are called aethers and airs, are alike in both the spiritual and natural worlds, only that those in the spiritual world are spiritual, and those in the natural world are natural. The former are spiritual because they exist from the sun, which is the first proceeding of the divine love and divine wisdom of the Lord, and from Him receive in them divine fire which is love, and divine light which is wisdom...-from "Part III"Emanuel Swedenborg, an 18th-century inventor and man of science, experienced a spiritual epiphany at the age of 56, when he began to explore Christianity from a mystic standpoint, a stunning change of heart that has since intrigued and fascinated generations of rationalists and philosophers, from Immanuel Kant to Arthur Conan Doyle to C.G. Jung. Did Swedenborg go mad, or is he a genuine prophet? Divine Love and Wisdom, first published in 1763, remains one of Swedenborg's most popular works, his discussion of the Creation of the universe and humanity; it forms the basis of his metaphysics and is an essential foundation for appreciating his other works.Also available from Cosimo Classics: Swedenborg's The Spiritual Life and The Word of God.Swedish scientist and philosopher EMANUEL SWEDENBORG (1688-1772) made notable contributions in the fields of biology, geology, and astronomy before embarking upon his theological commentary. His religious writings include The Apocalypse Revealed, The True Christian Religion, and The Last Judgment.
Posted in Religion

Guilt By Degrees

A Rachel Knight novel

Author: Marcia Clark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444707558

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 5892

The gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci. Rachel Knight has never been one to let justice slide from the grip of the law. So when a deputy district attorney mishandles a murder case and then shrugs it off - the victim was a homeless guy, so who cares? - she decides to take the case on herself. With the help of Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel soon finds a missing piece of the puzzle. And a new mystery: the homeless man's death is somehow connected to the vicious murder of a LAPD cop a year earlier. The prime suspect in the murder was acquitted - but now Rachel and Bailey are hot on the trail of new leads. What Rachel doesn't know is that she's being watched. Someone is following her every move, and just waiting for a chance to strike...
Posted in Fiction

Divine Love and Wisdom

Author: Emanuel Swedenborg

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1625583931

Category: Religion

Page: 164

View: 5114

In Divine Love and Wisdom, Swedenborg uses reason and empirical facts to prove the existence of God and God's divine love. He further posits that we are all an essential part of God's Divine plan, and that without us God's plan could not come to fruition.
Posted in Religion

Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England

From the Norman Conquest, in 1066. To the Year, 1803. From which Last-mentioned Epoch it is Continued Downwards in the Work Entitled, "Cobbett's Parliamentary Debates" ...

Author: William Cobbett

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 483

Posted in Great Britain

The Facts of Causation

Author: D.H. Mellor

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134860331

Category: Philosophy

Page: 264

View: 6497

Everything we do relies on causation. We eat and drink because this causes us to stay alive. Courts tell us who causes crimes, criminology tell us what causes people to commit them. D.H. Mellor shows us that to understand the world and our lives we must understand causation. The Facts of Causation, now available in paperback, is essential reading for students and for anyone interested in reading one of the ground-breaking theories in metaphysics. We cannot understand the world and our place in it without understanding causation. Yet a complete account of the nature and implications of causation does not exist. D.H Mellor's new book is that account.
Posted in Philosophy

Declining by Degrees

Higher Education at Risk

Author: Richard H. Hersh,John Merrow

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466893389

Category: Education

Page: 256

View: 5712

What is actually happening on college campuses in the years between admission and graduation? Not enough to keep America competitive, and not enough to provide our citizens with fulfilling lives. When A Nation at Risk called attention to the problems of our public schools in 1983, that landmark report provided a convenient "cover" for higher education, inadvertently implying that all was well on America's campuses. Declining by Degrees blows higher education's cover. It asks tough--and long overdue--questions about our colleges and universities. In candid, coherent, and ultimately provocative ways, Declining by Degrees reveals: - how students are being short-changed by lowered academic expectations and standards; -why many universities focus on research instead of teaching and spend more on recruiting and athletics than on salaries for professors; -why students are disillusioned; -how administrations are obsessed with rankings in news magazines rather than the quality of learning; -why the media ignore the often catastrophic results; and -how many professors and students have an unspoken "non-aggression pact" when it comes to academic effort. Declining by Degrees argues persuasively that the multi-billion dollar enterprise of higher education has gone astray. At the same time, these essays offer specific prescriptions for change, warning that our nation is in fact at greater risk if we do nothing.
Posted in Education

The Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare

With the Corrections and Illustrations of Dr. Johnson, G. Steevens, and Others

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3174

Posted in

Rhetorius the Egyptian

Author: N.A

Publisher: American Federation of Astr

ISBN: 0866905901

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 246

View: 4830

This book contains the Astrological Compendium of the late Classical astrologer Rhetorius the Egyptian. It contains his Explanation and Narration of The Whole Art of Astrology, and was translated from the Greek by James Herschel Holden, M.A., Research Director of the American Federation of Astrologers. Also included are the treatises by Teucer of Babylon on the Nature of the Signs of the Zodiac and the Nature of the Seven planets. Rhetorius was the last major astrological writer of the Classical period of Greek Astrology.
Posted in Body, Mind & Spirit

A Dictionary of Science, Literature, & Art

Comprising the History, Description, and Scientific Principles of Every Branch of Human Knowledge; with the Derivation and Definition of All the Terms in General Use

Author: William Thomas Brande

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Art

Page: 1423

View: 8254

Posted in Art

Angelic Wisdom Concerning the Divine Love and the Divine Wisdom

Author: Emanuel Swedenborg

Publisher: tredition

ISBN: 3847206540

Category: Fiction

Page: 229

View: 9975

This book is part of the TREDITION CLASSICS series. The creators of this series are united by passion for literature and driven by the intention of making all public domain books available in printed format again - worldwide. At tredition we believe that a great book never goes out of style. Several mostly non-profit literature projects provide content to tredition. To support their good work, tredition donates a portion of the proceeds from each sold copy. As a reader of a TREDITION CLASSICS book, you support our mission to save many of the amazing works of world literature from oblivion.
Posted in Fiction

The ... Part of the Institutes of the Laws of England; Or, a Commentary Upon Littleton

Not the Name of the Author Only, But of the Law Itself : Including Also the Notes of Lord Chief Justice Hale and Lord Chancellor Nottingham, and an Analysis of Littleton, Written by an Unknown Hand in 1658 - 9. Containing the exposition of many ancient and other statutes

Author: Edward Coke,Francis Hargrave

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 746

View: 1232

Posted in

Neonomianism Unmask'd

Or, The Ancient Gospel Pleaded, Against the Other, Called a New Law Or Gospel. In a Theological Debate

Author: Isaac Chauncy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Justification (Christian theology)

Page: 40

View: 4245

Posted in Justification (Christian theology)

Urania

Or, a Compleat View of the Heavens; Containing the Antient and Modern Astronomy, in Form of a Dictionary: Illustrated with a Great Number of Figures ... A Work Intended for General Use, Intelligible to All Capacities, and Calculated for Entertainment as Well as Instruction

Author: John Hill

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Astronomy

Page: 620

View: 693

Posted in Astronomy