Guilt By Degrees

A Rachel Knight novel

Author: Marcia Clark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444707558

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 6470

The gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci. Rachel Knight has never been one to let justice slide from the grip of the law. So when a deputy district attorney mishandles a murder case and then shrugs it off - the victim was a homeless guy, so who cares? - she decides to take the case on herself. With the help of Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel soon finds a missing piece of the puzzle. And a new mystery: the homeless man's death is somehow connected to the vicious murder of a LAPD cop a year earlier. The prime suspect in the murder was acquitted - but now Rachel and Bailey are hot on the trail of new leads. What Rachel doesn't know is that she's being watched. Someone is following her every move, and just waiting for a chance to strike...
Posted in Fiction

Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England

From the Norman Conquest, in 1066. To the Year, 1803. From which Last-mentioned Epoch it is Continued Downwards in the Work Entitled, "Cobbett's Parliamentary Debates" ...

Author: William Cobbett

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 2834

Posted in Great Britain

Freemason’s Secrets:

The True Descendants of the Knights Templar

Author: Bernard Kliemann

Publisher: Bernard Kliemann via PublishDrive

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 133

View: 653

Have you ever wondered what do Freemasons do in their Masonic Rituals? The Freemasons themselves will not speak to anyone about their Masonic degrees or their secret rituals. Although the Freemasons are the keepers of secrets they are also a group with amnesia. The Masons have been blind to their history since they came out of total secrecy in 1717. Some Freemasons say that they are descended from the medieval stone guilds; the other side says that they are the direct descendants of the Knights Templar! What is the truth? This is a no spin book on the Secrets of the Freemasons! Everything you ever wanted to know and never could find out is in this clear strait to the point book , without all the fluff. Just the real answers to your questions. These secrets most Freemasons them selves don't know because they are not in the higher degrees of Freemasonry and stopped at the third degree, which is the Master Mason degree. All three of the basic degrees of Freemasonry are covered and you get the real insight from a Freemason himself. Which signs and symbols of Freemasonry are truly important including the secret handshakes of the Freemasons. You will also find out why they hold secret armed guarded meeting! If you are a Freemason, you should know that this book was written by a Freemason and you would be surprised with what secrets you don't know! For wives, girlfriends, family members and people that just want to know more about the Freemasons, you will learn it in this book! If you are tired of asking your Mason, what exactly is going on in their meetings and always get a, “I can’t tell you” reply? What many Masons are not aware of is that there are many facets of the Craft that we can discuss openly. You will find these and many more secrets in Freemason’s Secrets: The True Descendants of the Knights Templar. If you really want to know the Secrets of the Freemasons, you will find them in this book.
Posted in History

The Facts of Causation

Author: D.H. Mellor

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134860331

Category: Philosophy

Page: 264

View: 3829

Everything we do relies on causation. We eat and drink because this causes us to stay alive. Courts tell us who causes crimes, criminology tell us what causes people to commit them. D.H. Mellor shows us that to understand the world and our lives we must understand causation. The Facts of Causation, now available in paperback, is essential reading for students and for anyone interested in reading one of the ground-breaking theories in metaphysics. We cannot understand the world and our place in it without understanding causation. Yet a complete account of the nature and implications of causation does not exist. D.H Mellor's new book is that account.
Posted in Philosophy

Declining by Degrees

Higher Education at Risk

Author: Richard H. Hersh,John Merrow

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466893389

Category: Education

Page: 256

View: 2018

What is actually happening on college campuses in the years between admission and graduation? Not enough to keep America competitive, and not enough to provide our citizens with fulfilling lives. When A Nation at Risk called attention to the problems of our public schools in 1983, that landmark report provided a convenient "cover" for higher education, inadvertently implying that all was well on America's campuses. Declining by Degrees blows higher education's cover. It asks tough--and long overdue--questions about our colleges and universities. In candid, coherent, and ultimately provocative ways, Declining by Degrees reveals: - how students are being short-changed by lowered academic expectations and standards; -why many universities focus on research instead of teaching and spend more on recruiting and athletics than on salaries for professors; -why students are disillusioned; -how administrations are obsessed with rankings in news magazines rather than the quality of learning; -why the media ignore the often catastrophic results; and -how many professors and students have an unspoken "non-aggression pact" when it comes to academic effort. Declining by Degrees argues persuasively that the multi-billion dollar enterprise of higher education has gone astray. At the same time, these essays offer specific prescriptions for change, warning that our nation is in fact at greater risk if we do nothing.
Posted in Education

The Dramatic Works of William Shakespeare

With the Corrections and Illustrations of Dr. Johnson, G. Steevens, and Others

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6176

Posted in

Rhetorius the Egyptian

Author: N.A

Publisher: American Federation of Astr

ISBN: 0866905901

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 246

View: 8685

This book contains the Astrological Compendium of the late Classical astrologer Rhetorius the Egyptian. It contains his Explanation and Narration of The Whole Art of Astrology, and was translated from the Greek by James Herschel Holden, M.A., Research Director of the American Federation of Astrologers. Also included are the treatises by Teucer of Babylon on the Nature of the Signs of the Zodiac and the Nature of the Seven planets. Rhetorius was the last major astrological writer of the Classical period of Greek Astrology.
Posted in Body, Mind & Spirit

A Dictionary of Science, Literature, & Art

Comprising the History, Description, and Scientific Principles of Every Branch of Human Knowledge; with the Derivation and Definition of All the Terms in General Use

Author: William Thomas Brande

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Art

Page: 1423

View: 9631

Posted in Art

Angelic Wisdom Concerning the Divine Love and the Divine Wisdom

Author: Emanuel Swedenborg

Publisher: tredition

ISBN: 3847206540

Category: Fiction

Page: 229

View: 3437

This book is part of the TREDITION CLASSICS series. The creators of this series are united by passion for literature and driven by the intention of making all public domain books available in printed format again - worldwide. At tredition we believe that a great book never goes out of style. Several mostly non-profit literature projects provide content to tredition. To support their good work, tredition donates a portion of the proceeds from each sold copy. As a reader of a TREDITION CLASSICS book, you support our mission to save many of the amazing works of world literature from oblivion.
Posted in Fiction

The ... Part of the Institutes of the Laws of England; Or, a Commentary Upon Littleton

Not the Name of the Author Only, But of the Law Itself : Including Also the Notes of Lord Chief Justice Hale and Lord Chancellor Nottingham, and an Analysis of Littleton, Written by an Unknown Hand in 1658 - 9. Containing the exposition of many ancient and other statutes

Author: Edward Coke,Francis Hargrave

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 746

View: 8545

Posted in

Neonomianism Unmask'd

Or, The Ancient Gospel Pleaded, Against the Other, Called a New Law Or Gospel. In a Theological Debate

Author: Isaac Chauncy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Justification (Christian theology)

Page: 40

View: 4747

Posted in Justification (Christian theology)

Downfall by Degrees

Author: Abdullah Hussein

Publisher: Katha

ISBN: 9788187649397

Category: Pakistan

Page: 294

View: 5881

Downfall by Degrees brings you three short stories and two novellas by Abdullah Hussein, recipient of the Adamjee Award, Pakistan s highest literary prize.
Posted in Pakistan