At Risk: An innocent boy. A sinister secret. Is there no one to save him from danger?

Author: Casey Watson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0008142726

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 80

View: 2106

Adam is a fragile and anxious boy whose relationship with his mother starts to unravel. His mother is seen as ‘wonderful’ and ‘devoted’ to Adam who she works hard for, but all isn’t as it seems.
Posted in Biography & Autobiography

Stress Fracture

Author: D P Lyle

Publisher: Medallion Media Group

ISBN: 9781605421773

Category: Fiction

Page: 394

View: 2529

When Dub Walker’s close friend Sheriff Mike Savage becomes the victim of a gruesome murder, the forensic expert is called upon to track down the serial killer who's been terrorizing the county. Having been involved in more than 100 cases of foul play and witnessed the bloody remains of rape, torture, and unthinkable mutilation, Dub thought he had seen it all—yet the killer is unlike any murderer Dub has ever encountered. Vacillating between wildly divergent personalities fueled by post traumatic stress disorder—at times calm, cold, and calculating; at others maniacal and out of control—the psychopath taunts, threatens, and outmaneuvers Dub at every turn. The stakes are suddenly elevated as Dub uncovers a deadly conspiracy tainted with unrestrained greed, corruption, and ties to the military establishment and the medical community.
Posted in Fiction

New World

Author: Park Benjamin,James Aldrich,Henry Champion Deming,James Mackay

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9402

Posted in

The New World

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page: N.A

View: 6842

Posted in New York (N.Y.)

The Chartist Circular

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chartism

Page: N.A

View: 6805

Posted in Chartism

Eine kurze Geschichte der Menschheit

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: DVA

ISBN: 364110498X

Category: History

Page: 528

View: 2871

Krone der Schöpfung? Vor 100 000 Jahren war der Homo sapiens noch ein unbedeutendes Tier, das unauffällig in einem abgelegenen Winkel des afrikanischen Kontinents lebte. Unsere Vorfahren teilten sich den Planeten mit mindestens fünf weiteren menschlichen Spezies, und die Rolle, die sie im Ökosystem spielten, war nicht größer als die von Gorillas, Libellen oder Quallen. Vor 70 000 Jahren dann vollzog sich ein mysteriöser und rascher Wandel mit dem Homo sapiens, und es war vor allem die Beschaffenheit seines Gehirns, die ihn zum Herren des Planeten und zum Schrecken des Ökosystems werden ließ. Bis heute hat sich diese Vorherrschaft stetig zugespitzt: Der Mensch hat die Fähigkeit zu schöpferischem und zu zerstörerischem Handeln wie kein anderes Lebewesen. Anschaulich, unterhaltsam und stellenweise hochkomisch zeichnet Yuval Harari die Geschichte des Menschen nach und zeigt alle großen, aber auch alle ambivalenten Momente unserer Menschwerdung.
Posted in History

The Moving Picture World

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Motion pictures

Page: N.A

View: 7320

Posted in Motion pictures

Comfort

The Key to Happiness and Success in Over a Million and a Quarter Homes

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8546

Posted in

The Coroner

Author: Matthew Hall

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 0230739091

Category: Fiction

Page: 422

View: 4779

The Coroner is the first gripping installment in Matthew Hall's twice CWA Gold Dagger nominated Coroner Jenny Cooper series, from the creator of BBC One's Keeping Faith. When those in power hide the truth, she risks everything to reveal it. When lawyer, Jenny Cooper, is appointed Severn Vale District Coroner, she’s hoping for a quiet life and space to recover from a traumatic divorce, but the office she inherits from the recently deceased Harry Marshall contains neglected files hiding dark secrets and a trail of buried evidence. Could the tragic death in custody of a young boy be linked to the apparent suicide of a teenage prostitute and the fate of Marshall himself? Jenny’s curiosity is aroused. Why was Marshall behaving so strangely before he died? What injustice was he planning to uncover? And what caused his abrupt change of heart? In the face of powerful and sinister forces determined to keep both the truth hidden and the troublesome coroner in check, Jenny embarks on a lonely and dangerous one-woman crusade for justice which threatens not only her career but also her sanity. The Coroner is followed by the second book in the Coroner Jenny Cooper series, The Disappeared
Posted in Fiction

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3894804270

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 3898

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.
Posted in Fiction

Einer von uns

Roman

Author: Daniel Magariel

Publisher: C.H.Beck

ISBN: 3406711847

Category: Fiction

Page: 172

View: 3328

Ein fesselnder, erschütternder Roman über zwei junge Brüder und ihren zugleich liebevollen und übergriffigen Vater – Daniel Magariels Buch ist das verblüffende Debüt eines neuen, großen Talents. Die drei – ein zwölfjähriger Junge, sein älterer Bruder und ihr Vater – haben den „Krieg“ gewonnen: So nennt der Vater seine bittere Scheidung und den Kampf ums Sorgerecht. Sie verlassen Kansas und fahren nach Albuquerque, um noch einmal neu zu beginnen. Die Jungen gehen zur Schule, spielen Basketball, finden Freunde. Ihr Vater arbeitet von Zuhause aus. Bald aber wachsen sich kleine Fehltritte des Vaters zu einer finsteren Irritation aus, müssen die Jungen erkennen, dass sich ihr Vater verändert, unberechenbar wird, mitunter brutal. Vor der kargerhabenen Kulisse der Landschaft New Mexicos erzählt Magariel mit bestechender Klarheit, wie die Jungen verzweifelt versuchen, die Familie zusammenzuhalten, sich gegenseitig schützen und helfen, und schließlich ums eigene Überleben kämpfen. „Einer von uns“ ist eine kurze Geschichte mit gewaltiger emotionaler Wucht.
Posted in Fiction

The Video Source Book

A Guide to Programs Currently Available on Video in the Areas Of: Movies/entertainment, General Interest/education, Sports/recreation, Fine Arts, Health/science, Business/industry, Children/juvenile, how To/instruction

Author: James M. Craddock,Thomson Gale (Firm)

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781414401003

Category: Performing Arts

Page: N.A

View: 4492

Posted in Performing Arts

Video Source Book: Video program listings A-I

Author: James M. Craddock,Thomson Gale (Firm)

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780787689773

Category: Video recordings

Page: 4374

View: 6845

"A guide to programs currently available on video in the areas of movies/entertainment, general interest/education, sports/recreation, fine arts, health/science, business/industry, children/juvenile, how-to/instruction"--T.p.
Posted in Video recordings

Dicks' English Library ...

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English literature

Page: N.A

View: 3978

Posted in English literature

The Chartist Circular

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chartism

Page: N.A

View: 1563

Posted in Chartism

The Girl in the Letter

Author: Emily Gunnis

Publisher: Headline Review

ISBN: 9781472255105

Category:

Page: 352

View: 2202

Read her letter. Remember her story... Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever. In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave. Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...
Posted in